Environmental Management Council


The Chemung County Environmental Management Council (EMC) is a voluntary advisory board appointed by the county government. Its mission is two-fold: to advise county government and to provide a liaison between the community and county government.

Solution-oriented, the Chemung County EMC strives to drive environmental improvement within the system. EMC programs often take the form of studies that provide recommended courses of action for decision-makers. 


The current Council members are:

  • Greg Clark
  • Scott Moore
  • Karl Schwesinger
  • Elizabeth Zilinski
  • Patrick Barnes
  • Alan Winston

Ex-officio Members:

  • Chemung County Planning Commissioner-Kevin Meindl
  • Chemung County Public Works Commissioner-Andrew Avery
  • Director, Cornell Cooperative Extension of Chemung County-Michelle Podolec
  • Chemung County Soil and Water Conservation District-Jim Diederich
  • Chemung County Sewer District-Alexandria Rennie
  • Tanglewood Nature Center, Director-Elaine Smith
  • NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation-Chad Kehoe
  • Chemung County Legislator-Jim Palmer
  • Chemung County Attorney-M. Hyder Hussain
  • Chemung County Environmental Services – Johnathan Keough
  • Chemung County Emergency Planner/Safety Coordinator -Kristin Griffiths 


The  next EMC meeting will take place on March 19, 2024 at 9 am and will meet in the basement conference room of 400 E. Church St. Elmira, NY.

Empty heading