Can I have the Ignition Interlock Device removed prior to 12 months?

If you have the device installed for 6 months and do not have any court ordered extensions of the minimum installation period, you may request that the STOP-DWI Program petition the Sentencing Court for approval of early de-installation using the De-Install Request form. Approval of the request will be based on a review of your monitoring reports.

Show All Answers

1. Where can I find more information about the Ignition Interlock Device vendors located in Chemung County?
2. Does the Ignition Interlock Device restriction apply to all vehicles?
3. Do I need to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed if my license is revoked or suspended?
4. Can I have the Ignition Interlock Device removed prior to 12 months?
5. Can I have my Ignition Interlock Device license restriction removed prior to 12 months if I don't install a device and don't have any other legal issues?
6. How do I request that the Ignition Interlock Device be de-installed and the license restriction removed?
7. NYS DMV records list me as the current owner of a vehicle that I no longer own and I don't have any proof of sale. What should I do?
8. Does the Ignition Interlock Device record and send information about my breath sample?
9. My job requires me to drive a vehicle. Does every vehicle I might drive for work require an Ignition Interlock Device?
10. I don't live in New York but I was convicted of a DWI in New York. Do I need an Ignition Interlock Device?
11. I have a license in a state other than New York. What do I need to do to restore my New York driving privilege?
12. Is there an application to request a fee waiver for the cost of the device?
13. Am I free to pick any Ignition Interlock Device vendor I want?
14. Do manufacturers who operate within New York State install Ignition Interlock Device's for motorcycles?
15. What forms do I need to apply for a Conditional License?
16. What are the penalties for driving without an Ignition Interlock Device or having someone else blow in the IID for me?
17. What section of the law covers IIDs?
18. Where do I find information about the Drinking Driver Program?
19. If I am granted a "20 Day Stay" (a Continuation of Driving Privileges), am I allowed to drive without an Ignition Interlock?